Queer/Race

Connecting Art with Race and Queerness

Posted in Uncategorized by kirstan27 on March 30, 2010

Color My Love

My love is colored

Brightly and proudly and broadly

My pale white skin

The color of acceptance

My feminine desire for her feminine grasp around my feminine waist

The color of rejection

Yet I still proclaim my colored love

Black Prince of my Kingdom

Obligated to color my love with a Queen

My only desire is for him to bow between me and I between he

The ruler of my body and the ruler of my throne

I’m a Prince in search of a King

My gayness does not color me weak

My color of strength and his love will further strengthen me

Throw me at the hands of death

I do not mind dying if I can die loving he

My love is colored

Not suppose to mix and match shades

Told to direct my love only the opposite way

But I want to mix and match shades

The Asian and the Black

The Hispanic and the White

I want to stroke the same shade over and over again

Women with Women

Men with Men

I colored my love

You don’t have to watch me paint

But don’t negatively judge my work

I’m proud of the art


This poem articulates how race-queer intersectionality can be cause a struggle when we try to mix the two in intimate relationships . In the LGBTQ community we want equality but we have to realize that we live in a state that denies those equalities to other citizens based on race, class, gender (identity), nationality, religious affiliation, or anything that allows our bodies and lives to be marked as  a sign of deviance.  Therefore if we want equality for the LGBT community we must realize and must continue to be connected with the liberation of all oppressed people especially racial discrimination. If we continue to separate them it will continue to be a struggle to blend race and queerness. It will continue to be conflicts with the idea of, “not only are you a gay couple but your interracial too.” This poem embodies the idea that love is love and that queerness and race have an interconnection that is intimate and people shouldn’t be judged for trying to blend the two together.  “I colored my love you don’t have to watch me paint, but don’t negatively judge my work I’m proud of the art.”


Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

