Queer/Race

AJ@ SF Pride ’08 (art)

Posted in Uncategorized by ajshort314 on April 29, 2010

In 2008, my friend Sean and I made the pilgrimage to San Fransisco for the pride festival. Here are some pictures I took at the main parade.  I thought that it was especially interesting to note how the different race-based organizations expressed their queerness. I chose to show pictures of the parade because it is one of the ways that queer people use public space (but only on the day of the parade). I take a lot of amateur- candid photos, mostly of garbage, flowers, animals, and industrial plants. I feel like my DIY/ point-and-shoot aesthetic really worked for something like a parade where I do not have control over the subject/lighting. Photography critiques as well as queer/race comments welcome!

It was hard to pick my top favorite pictures- took a couple hundred! I hope you enjoy (sorry for the quality, it looked way better before i put it on youtube).

Note: this clip will be deleted on May 15, 2010. I apologize if you are trying to view it after that.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. anj316 said, on May 7, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    I love this! I think what I like the most, is the apparent diversity of races and ethnicities. It’s so good to see so many different people coming together and celebrating one thing. However, I did notice that there didn’t seem to be much age diversity. It seemed to me that everyone was a bit older, like 30+. I don’t know if that’s actually true, but that’s what I saw. And for me, i think the age thing matters. As queer as I am, as out as I am, I’ve never been to pride. Any pride. But I do have pride. I guess if I saw a younger crowd, that’s like our age, I’d go. But it just seems intimidating, otherwise.

    But I really like your photos and I think it’s really cool that you went to the mecca of prides. Thanks for posting!


Leave a Reply

