Queer/Race

Look Over Here: Bullying

Posted in Uncategorized by lilsarah22 on May 5, 2010

I wanted to do my second post inspired by a classmates(shortstuff84) post about bullying. I wholeheartedly agree that we do not do enough about bullying. When I was in fifth grade, one of my best friends was called derogatory names like “faggot!” and “gay!” when we went to school together. Till this day, even though she is a heterosexual female, that experience stays with her. I think first, teasing is the problem. And of course, teasing because of your gender preference is also a problem.

But what I would like to note about this story is that it happened so young. My friend was in fifth grade. I feel like those kids who called her “Faggot” and “gay” didn’t even know what they meant! But she sure learned what it meant. I don’t even know why they would call her those terms when she didn’t even “act” homosexual or anything. I think that these terms are just like how we use the word “girl” to demean men. If we tell a man that he is “acting like a girl” then this is perceived as feminine, weak and petty. So this means women = feminine, weak and petty. I think that these terms like “Faggot,” “homo” “gay” sometimes have a negative sting to them. I think maybe we can change this by normalizing these words into our vocabulary much like the word “queer” has many different connotations to it now. I feel that I have learned a lot about the word “queer” and queer in relation to proximity over the course of this semester.

This post is about Iraqi Police who Killed a14-Year-Old Boy for Being Homosexual.

http://www.commondreams.org/headlines06/0505-06.htm. There are so many stories like this but what broke my heart about this story was that the boy was so young.

http://www.365gay.com/news/even-after-death-abuse-against-gays-continues/

This story about an angry mob that yanked out the corpse of Madieye Diallo’s, spit on it and dumped it in front of his family’s home is even more disturbing. I think that harmless “teasing” is where acts like these originate from and it is important to teach tolerance at a young age. I cannot stress how important it is. I realized that these are extreme cases in other parts of the world but I am greatly troubled by these stories of hate. I really, really don’t understand how people can be so cruel… I think that we have to continue to not be silent to fight to protect all people regardless of race, culture, gender, sexuality, whatever.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ryan Leeb said, on May 6, 2010 at 6:59 pm

    I think the point about “not knowing what it means” when children use offensive terms like “faggot” is deeper yet less related to queer concepts than you suggest. I feel that children hear words like that–faggot, gay, fag, homo–just like they hear other words like asshole, bitch, bastard, fuck, and many others. Children love attention, and they will grab it in any way they can. At an early age, children tend to see one of these “power” words, and immediately note the reactions of people–especially adults–that tend to be extreme and marked by shock. Children love having control over anything, because they have so little of it. I feel that kids, regardless of whether they do or do not know what those words mean, genuinely enjoy the explosive reactions from people in their surroundings.

  2. rmleeb said, on May 6, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    I think the point about “not knowing what it means” when children use offensive terms like “faggot” is deeper yet less related to queer concepts than you suggest. I feel that children hear words like that–faggot, gay, fag, homo–just like they hear other words like asshole, bitch, bastard, fuck, and many others. Children love attention, and they will grab it in any way they can. At an early age, children tend to see one of these “power” words, and immediately note the reactions of people–especially adults–that tend to be extreme and marked by shock. Children love having control over anything, because they have so little of it. I feel that kids, regardless of whether they do or do not know what those words mean, genuinely enjoy the explosive reactions from people in their surroundings.

  3. thecasualsquirrel said, on May 7, 2010 at 4:16 pm

    It shames me to admit it but I have used these words before and not in nice ways. I think the overuse and popularity of these words have caused a lot of tension. People began to describe things as gay when they did not actually mean it in that way. This has occurred most notably with the words douche bag. When someone is called that they are not being called a feminine cleaning product they are being called an idiot, jack-ass, or a frat boy. The same has been done with words such as gay, fag, and homo. These words have found their way into the modern day lexicon and the way most people use them is incorrectly.
    I don’t think this makes the utterances of these words acceptable but I think it does need saying that the majority of the time people are using these words it because they lack the intelligence to describe how they really feel. So they use verbal crutches: like, umm, I know right, gay, fag, dbag. I admit using these words in the past but I have recently made a point to myself to not use these words just because sometimes I lack the vocab to say what I really mean.


Leave a Reply

