Queer/Race

Can i sing you a song?

Posted in Uncategorized by lilsarah22 on May 6, 2010

For blog #2, I made a song with lyrics that I really really liked from student posts over the course of the semester.  If you don’t mind, I took a couple of the lyrics from the poems written by classmates and just put it into a tune that I felt would or might match their feelings.  There were only a few poems but I also took some words from short stories.  I hope that you guys don’t mind and if it is a problem, please let me know.  I don’t intend on distributing this song or showing anyone other than the Professor and you guys.  I will remove the video once the semester concludes as well.  I took writings from the students:  Sross, mrthomps, Graylielane, Becca and Kirstan.  Thank you.

Lyrics

I sing a song
for the lost and broken hearted

I looked to society and was daunted,
By the lack me.
Who would give this black girl affection?

Me I am Jamie I am Taylor I am Jordan I am Sam
Who are you? What’s in you’re closet?
Are you in there too?

I hate the electric slide but I like to sing oh
My love is colored, love is colored
I colored my love
Words that cut and bruise like unforgiving swords
sticks and stones may break my words
and words can kill me, words can kill me, words can kill us all, they can kill us all

*Verse I wrote is bolded

The climax of the song articulates my points that rhetoric, words, word and words are SO important!! In race-queer, lgbt studies.  If I had to use one word to sum up how I felt through out the course of this class it would be AWKWARD.  I use this word because I am a newbie about LGBT studies and don’t know how to phrase, explain, analyze, detract how I feel about everything.  And I fear my words because I don’t want to offend anyone and always remain diplomatic or “politically correct.”   That’s why I like songs better.  Songs are the emotions that we cannot put into words.  Even though the lyrics are just ambiguous pictures or images, it paints such a broader, bigger meaning with the accompaniment of the music and melody.  I believe words are so powerful and words are the key to fighting injustice, oppression, etc.   I also wondered if I put in Sarah’s lyrics of “Who would give this black girl affection?” if people would judge me for saying/singing this lyric because obviously, I am not a black girl.  =]  But why does it make us feel uncomfortable if an asian girl sings from a black girl’s perspective?  The obvious answer is that I am not black and therefore do not have the same experience.  But does that mean we can exclude my personal musical tastes/lyrics just because of my racial or experiential identity?  Couldn’t that be characterized as exclusion and a form of oppression as well?

*please excuse my appearance…its exam week, give me a break!  lol jk

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sross10 said, on May 7, 2010 at 1:29 am

    THIS WAS AWESOME!! I didn’t mind that you used apart of my poem, its actually really cool how you could combine poems and experiences of different people into one piece. I think that what this class is about. sharing parts of ourselves so we can all leave as a conglomeration of perspectives. Thanks for doing it.

    (by the way you should put an “of” in that sentence from my poem, apparently i didn’t either and i fixed it 🙂 , but you sang it so its cool)

  2. saimaanika said, on May 7, 2010 at 10:35 am

    That was truly amazing. I was in awe. The mix of fellow students’ words of experience and your words were beautifully collaborated. I really admired the tone you used to portray the emotions that people experienced through their words in the poems. Your voice was perfect!

  3. thecasualsquirrel said, on May 7, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    This was a really good song. I’m glad no one took offence for using their poems. I really wanted to do a song too but I can’t really sing and I lack the courage to put myself on the internet like that. Music does have a way of permeating boundaries like you said so even if you don’t feel comfortable saying these things in class you can put them in lyric form and its not as awkward.
    At first I didn’t like the fact that you were singing other people’s poems but then I began to like the idea. It kind of brings everyone’s points of view into the mix, including your own and I think that is a nice touch. I wish I could have done something like that but I just wrote a story lol. Keep posting songs.

  4. bblurbs said, on May 7, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    I was actually scared before clicking on this link, because many people attempt to sing on youtube and FAIL. But this was actually SO WONDERFUL. I loved your voice and the emotions that came from this song. “My love is colored. Love is colored” is my favorite part. I definitely agree. Don’t stop singing!

  5. anj316 said, on May 7, 2010 at 7:02 pm

    I agree with everyone else. This was awesome! You are so creative. Taking other people’s work, and putting your own spin on it while adding to it is a great idea. And I also think that you have a beautiful voice. Keep up the creativeness and singing!

  6. kth14 said, on May 7, 2010 at 7:08 pm

    I agree-this was awesome! I think it is so cool that you combined different poems and such to make lyrics-I am jealous of your artistic abilities. I think that it’s interesting you bring up the fact that you feel a little awkward about singing a line from a black girls perspective because you’re asian; this is pretty much what I wrote my final paper about: why can’t we identify with other races? We may not have the same experiences, but then none of us do. Just because I’m white doesn’t mean I have the same experiences as every white girl, so what’s the difference between that and between other races? Gender is another factor into this, but I think that’s a huge issue in itself.
    And, please don’t remove the video-I’d say (even though nothing of mine was used in the lyrics) if people are ok with it, you should make it more public because it gets some issues and topics out there in a great way and you are an amazing singer/songwriter!

  7. kirstan27 said, on May 8, 2010 at 5:16 am

    This was a really good song! I’m flattered that you used a part of my poem! Thanks. Keep up the good work and your voice is beautiful!


Leave a Reply

