Queer/Race

If I Were A Boy

Posted in Uncategorized by kaykay on May 6, 2010

Women are powerful. Women have a voice. We as women can be anything we strive to be…without the help of men of course. I chose to do my own rendition of Beyonce’s “If I Were a Boy” because the song itself invokes all these characteristics a woman can be. Kind of nervous to post this up, but I believe that I’m (hopefully) re-creating a powerful message through my own eyes. I don’t do nearly a good of a job telling a story like she does, but I’m no cinematographer, director, etc. Every single time I watch the video for the song I cry because she sends the most powerful message in a five minute music video. Beyonce raises the age old problem of the double standard. She questions, “If I were a boy…?” Would you, as a man, cry like I would? Would you, as a man, know how it feels to be heart broken like I would? I’m not saying that women don’t hurt men and that men don’t have feelings, but it is very realistic that it happens more so to women then men.

In relation to what we have learned in class, “If I Were a Boy” relates to the power of women. Are women allowed to be angry? There is still a movement today for women’s rights and we will always strive to be heard and treated equally. I believe that women in today’s entertainment are portrayed as strong and independent, but may be treated otherwise differently. Although women like our idols Beyonce, Lady Gaga, and Madonna strive to create positive rolls and images for women, there is still an underlying truth to the treatment of women outside of the entertainment industry and into the lives of the everyday woman.

In dedication to Beyonce, I would like to end my creative blog post with Kurt from Glee’s rendition of Single Ladies! Enjoy!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rmleeb said, on May 6, 2010 at 8:26 pm

    This, I feel, is a relevant interview in which Lady Gaga compares herself to males in her industry. She draws similar distinctions, saying that interviewers often ask her if she “uses” her sexuality, or if she thinks it “distracts” from viewing her as a serious artist. She does a pretty good job of explaining the double-standard, while using some pretty powerful verbal imagery to back her case. (The part I’m referring to is late in the video, but it’s short, and the rest of the content is interesting anyway.)

    In a way that some of your other examples don’t seem to (which does not reveal a weakness in your argument, only a difference), Lady Gaga also vehemently denies being a feminist, saying she obsesses over masculinity, “beer,” and “muscle cars.”

    I’m starting to feel really bad for our professor. Lady Gaga has truly taken over this class.

  2. teddytaylor said, on May 7, 2010 at 5:16 am

    I really admire you for putting this up, just because I would have been too scared too. I hate watching myself on film. Very nice job. As I was reading your post I noticed myself relating to you, and thinking about where you were coming from. But I’m a boy. Okay well I’m gay, but I’m still a boy. We kind of discusses this topic in class as far as roles we play. Sort of. I’ve just noticed myself being more in touch with my emotions lately, and it seems like that concept equates more with a woman. It just makes me wonder where I fit in? Do different levels of homosexuality exist? I mean I know some boys who are just like Beyonce’s police officer in this video but are gay. And they will hurt a guys feelings. I mean don’t get me wrong, I like being a guy, but I’ve found myself getting just as emotional watching this video too. Seriously! I guess I don’t really have a point here other than to let you know that some of us boys do understand…at least to an extent you might not think we were able to. 🙂

  3. kth14 said, on May 7, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    I think that the reason women are treated differently and are usually the ones to be hurt instead of do the hurting is because we do it to ourselves. It’s like a self-fulfilling prophesy-we think we are too emotional, get too attached and become too committed and so we make bad choices of partners and almost try to fulfill the prophesy of getting hurt because we care too much. I think this is true of me because I made a choice, a very bad one, on a guy I knew would hurt me (because he had repeatedly in the past-not physically or anything, but emotionally) and I still allowed myself to fall completely in love and completely ignore the fact that I knew he would treat me badly (which he did). But, it’s almost expected, so men get away with it and women take it because it is a double standard and both sexes fulfill this prophesy. While I’m certainly not blaming women, I think we do need to be stronger and not let some weak knees or falling head over heels allow us to let men completely take us over. I’m also not saying we should just hurt men all the time (although that does seem like fun) but learn not to allow them to hurt us. I know, it’s impossible, but the first step is to notice this and try to prevent it.
    Also, I really liked teddytaylor’s comment on how gay men can feel like “women” because of their emotions too-and even some heterosexual men do too. It’s all individual and while men do really have feelings (I know, it’s shocking) it seems they are better at hiding them and keeping them in, while women and gay men are more open about them and therefore healthier emotionally because of it 
    Last remark: good for you for posting that video! Takes guts and it was really cool, so thanks!


Leave a Reply

