Queer/Race

I am Beautiful

Posted in Uncategorized by kth14 on May 7, 2010

I’ve already posted all 3 blogs, but I was listening to this song and really wanted to share it and perhaps get some comments/thoughts.

Beautiful

This video/song really affects me-I feel sad for the “queer” people who seems so sad in the video and then I feel empowered because I feel beautiful. Are these people shown in the video (including Christina) queer? Why did Christina choose these images for her video?

Any other thoughts? reactions?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. mlhbenz said, on May 9, 2010 at 10:06 am

    I have loved Christina Aguilera’s song “Beautiful” since I first heard it because of how empowering I always thought it was. The song in itself is “Beautiful” because of how passionate and honest Christina Aguilera sounds as she sings the lyrics. Than the lyrics are enriching and uplifting as she talks about loving yourself regardless of any flaws and not allowing anyone to take that love away from you. What is interesting for me is I have never really identified with this song because of my sexuality but I have because of my race. My sexual identity has never been something that caused much of an issue in my life because the majority of my friends share the same sexuality, which means I never felt isolated because of it and my family has pretty much always supported me. On the other hand at times my race has been something I have felt isolated and targeted for so this song is strength when dealing with that type of discrimination.

  2. Becca said, on May 11, 2010 at 4:50 am

    This song was actually recently on Glee during an episode on self image.

    I also really like this song. When I was watching a special on Christina Aguilera a few months back, they interviewed the woman who wrote this song. She was pissed that they included the gay couple in the video. I don’t remember the exact quote, but she said something like, “I saw the video and thought, ‘Why did they have to go with the gay thing?'” Her reaction to the video tainted the message for me a bit because I think that it has had such a positive impact on people and it upsets me that the person who wrote it might have only had particular people in mind. Additionally, with so many songs thats completely ruin self image and comfort, it is nice to see a song come along that makes people feel much more comfortable. Thanks very much for bringing attention back to a song that isn’t as popular anymore! I hope to see other songs like this pop up in the future, hopefully by writers that are happy and willing to have them apply to anyone.


Leave a Reply

